To write or not to write

Image

Yesterday while preparing myself to write the next chapter for the sequel to my already published book. I decided to sit outside in the back yard and enjoy the shade of our large maple tree. My mind all of a sudden was no longer on the book I was working on, but on the poem that I seemed to be composing. How could I get so distracted? I was not sure if it my getting old and my mind wanders, or if it is what writers do? Since I have never written a book before A Hairdresser’s Diary I could not answer my own question. I always only wrote poetry. I guess I am not the only one out there that has this distracting mind. I know when I was painting I sometimes would have a poem floating through my head at the same time but this was different. I almost felt like I was cheating on my book lol. So am I getting old or is this a writers infliction? Bye the way this painting in one I did while composing a poem in my head. When I finished the painting I forgot to write the poem down so now it is lost. Someday it will resurface when I least expect it to.

23 Responses to “To write or not to write”

  1. catnipoflife Says:

    Chris, I know I have already commented here but this morning I was drawn back to an earlier post, ‘Be Independent’. Upon rereading it, I noticed I had not commented on the subject of the post. Unfortunately, there is a message saying comments to this post are closed. I did not know this alternative even existed. Anyway, to the point…

    My experiences with family and friends have been the same as your writer friend. Not only for the books that have been published but for connection and communication via blogs, fb and Twitter. If all contributed, they would really increase those ‘numbers’! But, on the other hand, is that what I really want- simply for them to be part of a number’s game? Not at all, like you and your friend, just a simple ‘Hey, congratulations on your accomplishment(s) or I am so proud of you’ would suffice wrming the heart in a very special way.

    I have often been told in life ‘do not count on your family and friends’! Sad, but true!

    BTW Thank you for stopping by catnip! I appreciate your visits and welcome comments. Have a beautiful day:>)

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you for commenting on thid sunject once again. It is a sore spot with many authors. I am not sure why friends and family would so for strangers but not for us. I have bought books I will never read but I wanted to support my friend or family. There are some books I cannot afford so I support thrm with a link on my website or spreading the word. I wonder if they are jealous? Maybe if we wrote in names they don’t know it would be different. Just wait until we become well known them they will brag that they know us and they will be knocking at the door for a hand out. My door will be closed to them just like theri heart is to me now.
      I enjoy your blog and will keep on visiting.
      Enjoy your day;

      Like

  2. The Time is Write « EIRAborate Says:

    […] To write or not to write (ahairdressersdiaries.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. catnipoflife Says:

    I remember when I published my first book I would wake up during the night and scribble on a notepad beside my bed. It was always a challenge the next morning to decipher those nightly thoughts:>)

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      wow we must have great minds. Eveb though mine is about me and my life I would remember something and have to write it just incase I forgot in the morning.

      Like

  4. successbmine Says:

    I find I am either brimming over with ideas or have none at all. I don’t know if it’s getting old or not, but I do know I am – getting old. And I do need to do some new writing soon. I’m still editing and revising. Love your painting. Like Ronnie, I hope to see it someday.

    Like

  5. jessicakovacs Says:

    I feel the same way! I feel like I’m cheating on my poem or my story if I start working or thinking about the other!

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Jessica i love that you are following my blog. I love yours. It is great when family enjoy each others work. What do you write? Have you published anything? I have now three books on Amazon.

      Like

    • Chris Says:

      Jessica i love that you are following my blog. I love yours. It is great when family enjoy each others work. What do you write? Have you published anything? I have now three books on Amazon.
      Honey how is Aunt Anne?
      Hugs Aunt Chris

      Like

      • jessicakovacs Says:

        I am working on a novel right now. It’s my first and I am just a beginner but I thought ‘why not?’ i haven’t published abything but thibk its great that you have! Thank you for reading my blog! I really enjoy writing it!

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        well dear if I can answer any questions you have abouit publishing just ask. I will help if I can. I read the story you wrote about your dad. You should ask him about the time he lived with Uncle Ron and I in Windsor while he went to learn to be a chef,
        BTW how is Aunt anne?
        What is your story about?

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        well dear if I can answer any questions you have abouit publishing just ask. I will help if I can. I read the story you wrote about your dad. You should ask him about the time he lived with Uncle Ron and I in Windsor while he went to learn to be a chef,
        BTW how is Aunt anne?
        What is your story about?
        I also try to post one of my paintings with each post. What do you think?

        Like

      • jessicakovacs Says:

        My story is about a 25+ girl who is out of college and struggling to find her place… It’s just a silly chick-lit book so far! When it is closer to being finished I’ll probably have TONNES of questions for you about publishing!
        I do like your paintings with each blog post. I was thinking I should try to post a picture with my posts as well but mine wouldn’t be as original as yours! I think it’s great to be able to showcase both of your talents!
        I heard Aunt Ann has to have more surgery. I think she needs some prayers.

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        I would love to see your art.
        Please tell Aunt Anne I am thinking of her and our prayers are definetly with her. I would call but I think it best I wait.

        Like

  6. Yvonne Hertzberger Says:

    A hairdresser, a poet, a painter AND a writer. You are one creative woman. 🙂

    Like

  7. Ronnie Dauber Says:

    What a beautiful painting! I hope you still have it when we get together. I’d love to see this up close.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      lol yep it is on my wall. It is my favourite. I once had a photographer tell me he swore he could see the water falling in the rocks. Nice eh?
      I have lots of painting hanging on the walls and unhung all over the house.

      Like


Comments are closed.