Testimonials from Amazon – A Hairdresser’s Diary

Just read for the second time and it was even better! A must read by everyone that enjoys a laugh and a tear!
I can relate to so many stories in this book all hairstylist must read this book pure passion for the business
WOW Chris! When I went into fb and saw there was a suggested friend for me named ‘Christine Hannon’ I figured maybe it was the younger one…but NO it was YOU!! YAY! Then to find out you had written a book about your life and tales of hairdressing..some of which I had heard first hand from you a ‘few’ years ago as we sat having tea as friends or as I or my daughters Donna or Mindy sat having our hair done by you. In fact if I remember correctly my oldest daughter Donna was going through something at one time and you wrote a little poem for her. Now back to your book…so on May 6th I bought your book for my Kindle Fire and on May 7th @ around 11:45pm I finally could put it down…FINISHED! You see sometimes reading a book is easy and refreshing, like ice cream on a hot summer day. Compulsive and addictive, like a drug you just can’t get enough of..and these I found in reading Chris’s Memoirs. I cringed and cried at the life she lived as a child growing up but I first handed lay KNOW and have SEEN the BEAUTIFUL woman inside AND out that Chris has become due to the trials and tribulations she has gone through, and when Chris tells us she’s a ‘Chatty Cathy’ please BELIEVE it!! She is, but in the most awesome way! Thank you Chris for this awesome read! I CANNOT WAIT for the sequel
Lovingly Always
Debi xox
This book is a heartbreaking and beautiful story of Christine Hannons’ life as a stylist.
I couldn’t put this book down once I started it.
A great incite in what hairdresser’s go through. It gave a great incite to her life experiences. I highly recommend this book.
Christine Hannon’s story, A Hairdresser’s Diary, carries you on a journey from a life where she longs to be loved to one where she is not only loved but adored. It embraces accomplishment of her dream only to see it shattered most unexpectedly.
The hairdresser is more than a connoisseur of tresses: She is a confidant, psychologist and friend loved by most, revered by those closest to her and envied by no one. For Christine, hers is a story of immense gratitude even in the face of adversity.
You will find yourself at the intersection of many life-changing events where you will want to reach out to her, share in the moment, and lend a helping hand when so urgently needed. You will laugh at the incredibly funny stories, cry at thoughts of the uncontrollable pain, and share with her the most memorable endeavors.
Step back in time with Christine to an era before modern day technology: an era devoid of today’s amenities we so often take for granted.
To Christine: Your book left me wanting to know what happens next. Will there be a sequel? I certainly hope so for this reader definitely wants to continue along the journey.
Once I started reading A Hairdresser’s Diary I found myself right there with Chris. I was one of her customers, one of her friends and I was the one who wanted to console her during her pain and disrepair. This book is a real “could not put down” kind of story. I felt sad, angry, excitement, pride and accomplishment sometimes all those in one chapter.
A definite must read. you will not be sorry you did. I will now look at MY hairdresser in a whole new light.
This book engaged me from the beginning as Christine describes her difficult childhood. Even though she suffers hardships, many brought on by her family, she goes on to achieve her dream of becoming a hairdresser. The portion of the book in which she describes going to beauty school is fascinating, and she details many trade secrets along the way and lets the reader in on dealing with head lice as well as showing the glamorous side of the profession. As she begins her career she brings in fascinating details about her customers and the new fashion of using the seasons to determine what colors would best suit the customer. In school and on the job, Christine shows her heart as she helps customers with their problems. She relates how she has to adapt to new job situations and to a tragic accident that leaves her in constant pain and unable to pursue her career. Despite the setbacks she’s experienced, Christine’s sense of humor, love of her family and personal courage shine through in the pages of this book. As you read, you’ll not only learn a lot about hairstyling, but about how Christine handles life’s setbacks with determination and grace.
Chris Hannon did a wonderful job with expressing her life & feelings. Such a beautiful, strong & courageous woman. I thoroughly enjoyed reading thls book, from beginning to end. I can’t wait for the sequel…..Wendy Cook, Sydney,Cape Breton, Nova Scotia
Christine’s autobiography so clearly comes from her heart and soul and compels the reader to stay with it to the last word. I enjoyed the tale and wanted to hug her throughout, but particularly when she was still a toddler and being pushed away from her mother by her mother….how utterly heartless and unfathomable to me, the mother of two children myself, I could never imagine treating them thusly. She had the stalwart fortitude to stand up straight as her beloved Grandmother decreed and march forward under her own strength alone….well done you!!
I feel sure you have raised your children with love you missed all those years.
This is a must read story for anyone who thinks a bad life of downs holds you back. This story is so unbelievable you won’t be able to put it down. It keeps you wondering what will happen next in this woman’s life when she is down in luck but yet pulls herself back up and keeps on going forward to her dream and then… A must read can’t give it all away! Pick up your copy today you won’t regret reading this amazing story.
Christine Harmon’s journey from childhood to emancipated adult as chronicled by her diary is an interesting read and worth taking the trip with her. Despite the terrible cruelty of her mother and step-family she proves what grit and determination can do. She never gave up on her dream of becoming a hair stylist – from dolls to real people. She found strength in writing poetry and drawing along the way as well as writing in her diary. Against all odds and with help from unexpected sources she obtains not only her dreamed-of career, but love, marriage and a family of her very own. She held my attention despite the fact that I personally have never been interested in the “beauty” business.
Inspirational story of how dreams can become reality and struggles become blessings. I was unable to put this book down. The writing is refreshing and down to earth.
I found your story very interesting. I kept getting caught up in the story and having to backtrack to edit the section I just read. And the ending left me wanting to know more. Your story is so inspiring, especially that you maintain such a “can do”, positive attitude in sprite of all that has been thrown your way.

side from your life story, which was gripping, the view it gave of the changes in salon services (and clientele) over the decades was interesting from a historical perspective.
I remember the days of setting lotion and curlers, and ladies going out with their hair in curlers. I remember the shift to tousled, “natural” looks. I remember when the color seasons swept through America (I am a winter who always thought I was a fall-switching my color palette made a tremendous difference). It was fascinating to hear about all that change from the perspective of a stylist.
I wish you all blessings and joy. I hope that others can read your story and be touched by it as well.

2 Responses to “Testimonials from Amazon – A Hairdresser’s Diary”

  1. successbmine Says:

    It’s wonderful to read these words of praise for your book. It must lift your spirit to know how many people have read and enjoyed your book. I also enjoyed it and loved reading about all your ups and downs and how you handled them so well. It is inspiring to say the least. Keep up the good work, Chris.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you my friend you are so very kind.

      Like


Comments are closed.

