Tidbits from A Hairdresser’s Diary /Scissors Retired – part six

While I sipped my tea, I warmheartedly remembered my first job working at Elizabeth Arden’s Salon in the Simpson’s Sears store, and the many memories I cultivated there. My modelling début on TV and the multitude of modelling jobs began at Simpson’s Sears while I was still in school. Shaking my head and with a shudder, I remembered giving my first full body massage and how I decided at that moment that massage would not be part of my career choice. Thoughts of Natalie and her Mike made my heart melt. I wondered if she was happier now that she knew her scars didn’t matter to her loving husband. I thought warmly of all the different places I had worked and the customers I had made feel good about themselves. The friendships that carried on after I could no longer be of service in the salon were high on my list. My clients, even though a small percent of what I was used to, were every bit as gracious and giving as they used to be. Like Mary, a relatively new friend and customer, who surprised me with a marvelous tip for doing her hair in the form of a ticket to go to the Top Hat with her – a very exclusive and expensive club in downtown Windsor – to see and hear Brenda Lee perform. I was so excited and Ron was pleased for me. The evening was amazing and unforgettable. I needed to go to the ladies room and on my way back to the table I could hear her singing. Trying to see where she was I walked smack right into her. She professionally never even missed a note. Smiling at me she dedicated her next song to the ‘tall lady with the red face.’ I indeed was embarrassed, but I could not help notice how very short she was as I stood so close to her. Mary thought it was very amusing and teased me for the rest of the evening. Then there was Marylou, oh yes, Marylou. I could not forget her sisterly friendship towards me, especially when I needed a friend the most. Our families grew very close over the years. We had children close in age we even lived with her and family for three months while in transition. I was still bewildered that she disappeared from my life as fast as she came into it.

Posted in Writing. Tags: , , , , , , , . Comments Off on Tidbits from A Hairdresser’s Diary /Scissors Retired – part six
