Tidbits from A Hairdresser’s Diary /Scissors Retired – part five

We spent a great deal of time with Frank and Cathy- Ron’s brother and our sister -in -law. Our two families were exceptionally close, the four of us almost inseparable. Cathy and I would finish each other’s sentences that is how close we were. One delight I had was working with Cathy’s long beautiful hair with which she allowed me to be creative.

It was on a beautiful, breezy, sunny afternoon after Cathy and I had just finished making strapless halter-tops for ourselves. Cathy, being the awesome seamstress she was, loved any excuse to switch on her sewing machine. These cute tops looked like short skirts with elastic that fit snugly under our arms and just fell loose to our waist with a bit of flair. They were not only cool to wear but looked cool as well. Just as we finished, Aaron, Frank and Cathy’s nineteen year old son and youngest of three, reminded me he had asked me for a haircut earlier that day, I said, “As soon as mom and I are finished making these tops I will be happy to do that.”

Aaron smiled and said, “Great just let me know when you are ready.” Cathy did not have a special place for me to do hair, so I tried to keep the mess outside if possible. In the warm weather anyway it is not easy to cut hair in the snow in a parka and mittens. That would be a pretty silly sight and possibly a scary looking haircut as well.

So there we were out in the backyard, Aaron sitting on a high kitchen stool, wrapped in one of Cathy’s handmade hairdressing capes. I had the hair clippers plugged into an extension cord that was sitting on the picnic table – a spray bottle filled with warm water, my scissors and my comb ready for use. Aaron wanted a short cut so most of his hair was cut with the clippers. The top though needed to be wet so I used my scissors. The strong warm breeze was drying his hair as fast as I was cutting. All of a sudden there was a big gust of wind and the freshly cut hair blew into my face. As it did, without thought, I reached down and picked up my top to wipe my eyes. Not until I heard the gasp from Aaron did I realize I had no bra on. I had just flashed my young nephew. Oh my gawd! I was so embarrassed. How was I going to play this boo boo down? Aaron was laughing hysterically as he called, “Hey Mom and Dad, Aunt Chris flashed me.” He could hardly stay seated on the stool he was laughing so very hard. Again he shouted, “Hey Mom, Aunt Chris is trying to showing me her boobs.”

“Aaron, I am so sorry – it was an accident,” I said, very embarrassed. I tried to finish his haircut, hoping to brush the incident off as if it did not happen, but he would not stay still. He continued calling to his parents. Finally, Cathy came outside and Aaron told her what I did. I could not apologize enough and then everyone started laughing. For the rest of the day, all in the house made gestures mimicking me pulling up my top. To make matters worse, Aaron’s cousin Clarissa was visiting. Now more family members would know of my stupidity. A few days later Frank said. “By the way Chris the neighbours want to know when you are coming to visit next.”

“Why, would they want to know that?”

“Well they said they were hoping you would be cutting Aaron’s hair in the backyard. It is not often they get a peek show with a haircut.” Covering my face with my hands we all started to laugh, including me. Every chance Frank got he took the opportunity to kiddingly remind me that I had flashed his son.

It was the next year that Aaron told us all he was gay. It was not long before someone jokingly blamed my flashing him for being the reason. You know the old saying, “Do something right no one remembers, but do something wrong, no one forgets.” How true how very, very true.

Posted in Writing. Comments Off on Tidbits from A Hairdresser’s Diary /Scissors Retired – part five
