Mother’s Day Smile

wildroses2

Mother’s Day was coming and I so love getting hand-made cards from my hubby Ron. I have always felt there was so much more love in a hand-made card versus a store-bought one. Ron was not great at writing love poems in mine, but he always came up with a quote that was loving and appropriate.

My daughter Christine was going to be on her own for the first time since being newly divorced. Shandra her daughter was too young to do anything for her so I thought I would. Since I write poetry and know how to use the computer program to make the cards I would try it. I wrote the perfect poem. Not mushy or generic but something that would give her a much-needed lift and let her know how much we love her.

I painted her a picture of wild roses on a jacket that she had asked for. I used that picture on the front of her card. After picking out the best font for the poem, I printed it and sealed it in an envelope that I also made. On the front of the envelope, I wrote ‘To My Wonderful Daughter’ in calligraphy.

Her father and I then invited her and our wonderful granddaughter over for brunch. After brunch, we exchanged cards. I was so proud. I just knew she would love the card as much as she did her painted jacket.

I had a huge smile on my face as she opened it. I winked at Ron who gave me the thumbs up. All of a sudden, Christine started to laugh. She was laughing so hard she could not speak. Perplexed I took the card from her and read,” I know I’m not your mother.” Somehow “I know your not my Mother” got mixed up between my pea brain and my fingertips.  Need I say more? Not a Mother’s Day passes that she doesn’t remind me of my special Mother’s Day card that only ‘her mother’ could have written. Ron just rolls his eyes and shook his head.

Happy Mother’s Day to every mother everywhere.

 

 

2 Responses to “Mother’s Day Smile”

  1. catnipoflife Says:

    Chris, I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day! 🙂

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      And you too my friend

      Like


Comments are closed.

