The Next Big Thing – blog hop

My friend and colleague, Ronnie Dauber, author of “Let Faith Arise”recently tagged me for an author’s blog hop entitled, The Next Big Thing. This is where each author answers a few questions about his /her current work-in-progress, and then invites other authors to do the same. It’s similar in concept to a chain letter, except that it’s only focused on an author’s work-in-progress. Ronnie was tagged by Chuck Hodges, and 100s if not 1000s of great writers before them. Please check out Chuck’s and Ronnie’s sites to learn what brought them to the point of writing their current projects.

So this week is my turn and here are my answers to the questions in this blog hop.

Q: What is the working title of your next book?

A: The book that I’m currently working on is called, A Hairdresser’s Diary Continued.

Q: Where did the idea come from for the book?

A: This book is a sequel for my first book A Hairdresser’s Diary. It continues to take you on a journey I started from the age of six. My dreams and my struggles that  put me on a different track due to the carelessness of a drunk driver. My life was governed from then on by a life of chronic pain.

Q: What genre does your book fall under?

A: My book is a non fiction, inspirational memoir.

Q: What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

A: I have not given this any thought but it would have to be someone who is sensitive, caring and honest.

Q: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A:  A Hairdresser’s Diary This book is the diary of a hairdresser who had a calling and a great memory. It is filled with stories of gossip, angst, triumph, challenge and most of all, humour.

Q: Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

A I used Createspace to publish my book. I had the help of some wonderful and gifted people along the way. The book cover is a picture of me when I was modeling.

Q: How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

A: It took two years from the first word to publishing.

Q: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

A: I cannot answer that as I have not yet found another book like it nor have I read any other book like it.

Q: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

A The first book A Hairdresser’s Diary was inspired by my son in law. This sequel seemed like the natural thing to do. I have had many friends, family and customers ask me if they could please be mentioned in this second one.

Q: What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

A: I believe my story will make the reader laugh, cry, think and believe. Believe in the saying ‘Dreams do come true’. Inspiration for those who have barriers in life can also be found in my story.

Thanks again to Ronnie for inviting me to this blog hop. You can read Ronnie’s answers to the questions in The Next Big Thing at his website, which is CR Hodges, Author, and you can read what Timothy wrote on Timothy’s website, which is The Lunatic Assylum.

Here are the names and the links for some other emerging authors whom I’ve tagged to carry on the next installments of The Next Big Thing.

 

Doug Simpson

Caressing the Muse

Catnipoflife

6 Responses to “The Next Big Thing – blog hop”

  1. catnipoflife Says:

    Chris, be sure to stop by catnipoflife and grab the global Hug Award. You are MOST deserving! http://catnipoflife.wordpress.com/2013/04/21/the-hug-award/

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you so much my friend I am honoured

      Like

  2. catnipoflife Says:

    Awesome, Chris! Looking forward to the sequel for the original is GREAT! Thank you for thinking of catnip. I will do my best to live up to the expectations! May take a little time since life is centered mostly around my husband. He is home! That is a relief in itself! Hugs to you, my friend 🙂

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Hon I just got a catch in my throat when I read your hubby was home. I knew God was listening.
      bless you my dear friend and hugs to hubby

      Like

  3. Ronnie Dauber Says:

    Chris, thanks for sharing your work progress with us. I wish you the greatest of success with your books!

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Ronnie I hope I did this correctly. Thank you for the chance to share. You are a very special friend

      Like


Comments are closed.

