More to marketing than meets the eye

When I was writing my first book I was totally nieve about what happens after the words are on the paper. I found the editing was never-ending. No matter how many times I did it or how many other people did it,  someone still found something, someplace that needed fixing. Frustration became a daily feeling. Designing a cover was the next task and who knew there was so much involved. Formatting? Oh my, there is one for paper books another for e books yikes! Well I didn’t have to do all of that or even get help because there were companies out there that would do it all for me right? Well not if I wanted to still own my own book and make a buck.Then I had to find that sacred gem, a publisher. Not a vanity or rip off publisher but one that would give me a great big advance, put my books in all the stores that carry books and do all the marketing so I can just rake in the money. Well that isn’t going to happen right?

After a lot of soul-searching and feeling my pulse to see if I was still alive. One never knows at this age lol. I decided to go the Createspace route  and with help from some seasoned authors, editors and friends  was also able to get on Kindle, LULU, Booktango ect. Knowing that all the marketing would be on me I did a couple of book signings and was able to get my book into a few stores and salons. I never knew that this could not only be hard work but fun.

I have just been invited to write a guest piece for not one but two hairdressing magazines plus a guest spot on another authors site. I  was excited when I was featured on Indie Int and when our small town did a half page write-up about me. I know to the authors or writers that have been at this for a longer time or that have more than one book this might sound trivial, but to me it is exciting and a wonderful and pleasant surprise.  My friend Betsy is now helping me format my poetry book for publication and I have started my sequel to A Hairdresser’s Diary.

I might not think the next two are as much fun when it comes to marketing but I am learning a tremendous amount and enjoying my journey right now. One day I would like very much to write a best seller and have a Traditional publisher be my publisher, but for now I will still hand out business cards, bookmarks, do the word of mouth marketing and enjoy the amazing feedback and sales I am enjoying at this moment.

Posted in Books. 10 Comments »

10 Responses to “More to marketing than meets the eye”

  1. successbmine Says:

    Congratulations on your ‘assignments’. I’m glad you have been enjoying the marketing process. Even if you ever do get a traditional publishing contract, the marketing will still be in your ballpark. Most publishers today do very little marketing. But, like you, I would like to get published by a traditional publisher at least once. I do have a manuscript at a publishers and, nearly 4 months later, am still awaiting their decision. CreateSpace is so much quicker and you get a much higher % as profit. I have yet to try it out, but have plans to do so at some point.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Diane I would not know where to start looking for a traditional publisher any clues please
      I am doing well but just want to want it once. Good luch my friend and let me know how it goes

      Like

  2. catnipoflife Says:

    To everyone who read through the comments as well as the post – Chris’s book is AWESOME! I am working on a review for you, my friend! I laughed and I cried sometimes at the same time!

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      THank you so very much my friend I am so happy you enjoyed it, I appreciate your comments anf if you can put it on amazon that gives me 9- 5 star rating, You are most kind. I am working on the second one noe a sequel
      hugs

      Like

  3. Sandra McLeod Humphrey Says:

    I think it’s exciting too and this is just the beginning of even greater things to come! I ordered your bookand I can hardly wait to read it!

    Like

  4. allinthedayofme Says:

    Oh my…and I want to write a book? Hmmmmmmm. I’d better think hard about this.
    I’d love to read one of your books. Are they only on line?

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      I am pleased you would love to read my book I have them in 4 stores in Paris and Brantford and I have them hee at hone as well as most people want their books signed. Where do you live?
      Thank you
      And if you want to write you should . The journey is amazing

      Like

      • allinthedayofme Says:

        I live in Midland, Michigan. We don’t buy on-line like so many folks do. It means I can’t buy several books I’d like. If I can order a hard copy or a paper back from you, please let me know. 🙂

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        Well my friend I would love to send you a signed copy of my book. The peice of the book is $9.99 and shipping to the US is $8.51.
        If you are still interested let me know on my personal e mail sales@chironcanada.com this way I can get your mailing address and we can arrange payment.
        I will not be insulted if you prefer not to purchase my book.
        Thank you

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        my friend if you are contiplating getting my book please read catnipoflikes post she just bought and read iy
        Haooly she loves it

        Like


Comments are closed.

