Comments that blew me away

Once I started reading A Hairdresser’s Diary I found myself right there with
Chris. I was one of her customes, one of her friends and I was the one who
wanted to console her during her pain and dispare. This book is a real “could
not put down” kind of story. I felt sad, angry, excitment, pride and
accomplishment sometimes all those in one chapter.

A definate must read.
you will not be sorry you did. I will now look at MY hairdresser in a whole new
light.

 

Inspirational story of how dreams can become reality and struggles become
blessings. I was unable to put this book down. The writing is refreshing and
down to earth.

 

 

This book engaged me from the beginning as Christine describes her difficult
childhood. Even though she suffers hardships, many brought on by her family, she
goes on to achieve her dream of becoming a hairdresser. The portion of the book
in which she describes going to beauty school is fascinating, and she details
many trade secrets along the way and lets the reader in on dealing with headlice
as well as showing the glamourous side of the profession. As she begins her
career she brings in fascinating details about her customers and the new fashion
of using the seasons to determine what colors would best suit the customer. In
school and on the job, Christine shows her heart as she helps customers with
their problems. She relates how she has to adapt to new job situations and to a
tragic accident that leaves her in constant pain and unable to pursue her
career. Despite the setbacks she’s experienced, Christine’s sense of humor, love
of her family and personal courage shine through in the pages of this book. As
you read, you’ll not only learn a lot about hairstyling, but about how Christine
handles life’s setbacks with determination and grace.

Posted in Books. 8 Comments »

8 Responses to “Comments that blew me away”

  1. successbmine Says:

    It’s wonderful to read such uplifting and encouraging comments.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you Diane I was just asked to write guest pieces for 2 hairdresser’s magazines cool eh

      Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you my friend. I was in London the other day showing my daughter in law the room I lived in when the Banting museum was a girls boarding house.

      Like

    • Chris Says:

      Diane I wanted to leave a comment on yopur site but could not find where I could. I wanted to say that I was in tears when I was reading and looking at your pictures. I have so very few of me when I was younger. As a mater of fact at two of my step brother funerals recently there where childhood pictures of all the kids but i was not included in any of them, It was as if I did not exist.

      Like

      • successbmine Says:

        Chris, there is a box at the bottom that says “Please leave a reply” where you can leave your comment. Thanks for visiting my blog. I have unfortunately misplaced most of my photos and my mother’s photo albums from the time she was a child. They must be in my apartment somewhere, but where that somewhere is I just can’t seen to discover. I had a few separate from those and that is how I was able to post those that I did.

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        lol it must be my white hair showing through. I loved your pictures

        Like

  2. Sandra McLeod Humphrey Says:

    Your book sounds irresistible and I just ordered it on Kindle!

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you Sanda but you could still win a signed softcovered copy in my contest
      blessings

      Like


Comments are closed.

