Blessings

Summer bridge

 

When we think of blessings that come our way, do we think only of fame and fortune? Do we stop to think about the little things or the smaller joys? Yesterday I spend the most delightful afternoon with a wonderful new friend I have made on line. Her and her husband shared their time with my hubby and me. I had only met them once before, at my booksigning event in Paris, but immediately I could feel the friendship brewing. It is like we had known each other forever.

The afternoon was filled with laughter, exchanging family stories, and sharing how we both became authors. We talked about our heartaches concerning our health and family ills.

We live so close in miles and have so much in common. I am sure that yesterday was God’s way of blessing both families. I was so much richer getting to know this warm, loving, interesting person and her wonderful husband even more. My hubby is very quiet but he had no problems sharing interests. I was at times wondering when he became such a chatterbox.

Yesterday I was blessed with a closer friendship with these two people. I could hear it in their voices and feel it in their hugs as they arrived and as they left. Thank you God for bringing them into our lives.

Next time you complain about not having been blessed or not having good happen to you STOP and think about the people you have in your life. Even those who just pass through, who have given a little of themselves to make even  a moment of your time enjoyable. Find the good in things you feel have none. There are blessings everywhere, You just need to open your heart, your eyes and your mind. Smell those flowers, feel the wind, stop and look at the stars and listen to someone else you might be their blessing to day.

Posted in Books. 14 Comments »

14 Responses to “Blessings”

  1. Showers of Blessings « Thoughts from the Porch Says:

    […] Blessings (ahairdressersdiaries.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:SharePrintEmailTwitterStumbleUponFacebookRedditLinkedInDiggTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you so much

      Like

  2. Claire Cappetta Says:

    Thank you for such a wonderful and inspiring post!
    I also wanted you to know my thoughts and prayers are with you, my friend. Sending hugs your way 🙂

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      thank you so much I will need as many prayers as God will allow
      blessings

      Like

      • Claire Cappetta Says:

        Just wanted you to know, mine are with you and I hope you can get to relax over the weekend

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        Thank you Claire. I hope this post will help those who feel they are the only ones who have problems.
        There is nothing worse than that if you are already suffering.

        Like

  3. Sandra McLeod Humphrey Says:

    What a beautiful post! That’s how I feel about some of the people I’ve met on the Internet (including you) whom I’ve never met in person–you are all so special!

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      what a delightful day it would be if we could all sip tea together in the same room
      I am proud to have you as my friend

      Like

  4. catnipoflife Says:

    Chris, it is like catnip:
    Observing life at its best, listening to life’s songs, embracing life’s bounties, breathing the breath of life and savoring life to its fullest! Life is filled with many blessings: The breath of life itself is a blessing. Captivating moments are right before our eyes, music to our ears, within our very grasp and under our nose waiting to be enjoyed.

    I can relate to your visit. When Jim and I moved recently from Florida to Georgia, we left 30 years of friendships behind. Yet, since our move here we have established closer relationships in less than two years. The Lord moves us in mysterious ways!

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      your words are sweet and so true
      I sent your book today I hope you will be pleased
      bless you my friend

      Like

      • catnipoflife Says:

        Yes! I will be on the lookout and will let you know as soon as it arrives:>)

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        wonderful!

        Like

  5. Ronnie Dauber Says:

    This is a very encouraging and inspiring message for all of us. Friendship has far more rewards than anything else in this world, and when we meet people who we can share our thoughts and our values with, it’s truly a blessing from God.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      indeed it is my friend indeed it is.

      Like


Comments are closed.

