How not to cut your hair

       This is just a snipit from my book A Hairdresser’s Diary

While at home one day I decided to cut my hair, a common occurrence. With my scissors in hand I was cutting just above my ear. I thought I heard someone at the door. I turned my head to listen closer, realizing it might just be Cercie our cat. I turned my head back, which caused me to stab myself in the side of my head with the tip of my exceptionally sharp scissors. OUCH! Anyone knowing about scalp wounds knows how profusely they bleed. I had blood spurting like a small geyser from the small triangular wound. I felt it run down my ear and neck. Shock and panic set in. Holding my finger on the wound, I ran across the street to my neighbour. Without knocking, I ran into their house. Fiona fainted as soon as she saw the spurting blood. Her husband Dan came in and found her lying on the floor. Trying to calm me and revive his wife, he informed me Fiona fainted at the sight of blood. No kidding! I think I could have figured that out for myself. I apologized and in tears, I ran back home, unsure what to do next. Dan called after me wanting to make sure I was okay. Afraid to remove my finger from the hole, I called my doctor for advice. It was suggested I remove my finger, to check the bleeding.Yes, it had stopped, so I asked about a tetanus shot. Snickering, the nurse said, “I will ask the doctor as soon as he gets up off the floor from laughing!” I admit it was a painfully stupid thing to do. Ron shaking his head in total disbelief, said, “Honey if you want to commit seppuku (Japanese form of suicide via sword) you have to aim lower, a whole lot lower” and then he broke down hysterically laughing. The sore spot on my head was nothing to the unmerciful teasing I received from family, friends and co-workers. Someone walked past me at work and whispered, “Snip, snip,” then smiled and winked. One of the other girls yelled across the room, “Anyone got scissors in their head, oh I mean hand,” every one would burst out laughing including me.

14 Responses to “How not to cut your hair”

  1. Sandra McLeod Humphrey Says:

    Love your blog, Chris, and I’m paying the Sunshine Award forward to you since your blog brings Sunshine into so many lives! I’ll give you the details later this week when I have a chance to catch up with my backlog.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Sandra I am so honoured that you would find my blog worthy. Thank you so much.
      I am so happy . My hubby says I act like a little girl in a candy shop.

      Like

      • sandra305 Says:

        That’s exactly why I love you and your blog, Chris! As soon as my webmaster gets my new blog post up with the award info, I’ll get back to you!

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        Thank you so much Sandra I am pleased you like my writing. I try to put one of my paintings with each poem . This one is one I do on the back of demim jackets. Lots of stones and sparkle.

        Like

      • sandra305 Says:

        That would be absolutely beautiful–you are definitely multi-gifted!

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        Thank you very much you are most kind

        Like

  2. allthingsboys Says:

    So funny (you don’t mind if I laugh, do you?), :-). Thank you for visiting my sight so I could find yours! Love your blog!

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      lol if you didn’t laugh we would worry lol
      I am glad you came for a visit we can now each enjoy our visits.

      Like

  3. successbmine Says:

    I got a lot of teasing the night I fell backwards off the platform at church. In fact, I was a long time living it down. I laughed for months after, every time I thought about it. 🙂

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      I sure hope you didn’t get hurt. Sometimes we need to laugh at ourselves.lol
      I have a question another author has been trying to leave a comment on my blog but she said she is having no luck and has tried several times. Question, do you have to be signed into WordPress to leave a coment
      Thank you my friend for your response

      Like

      • successbmine Says:

        Thank you. No, I didn’t get hurt.

        Re your question. You either have to be logged into WordPress or a Facebook or Twitter account.

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        thank you a couple people said they tried to leave comments but it didn’t work

        Like

  4. Yvonne Hertzberger Says:

    It sounds embarrassing – but all in fun. I, too, have been the butt of some teasing but it generally lightened the mood. I never minded.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      me too I don’t mind either for me this is normal lol

      Like


Comments are closed.

