Everyday a learning curve

Water drops

Wow I had no idea how much more there was to learn about this writing and publishing business. Yesterday I learned that there are those who think a local artist is great but because I am unknown it will cost me an arm and a leg to get my product in their store.

I have to prove myself in order for them to take a risk on me. Even though they have known me for 20 years. This is true, I guess no matter what you are getting into. It must be the nature of the beast, not wanting to be the first on the block. So I talked the situation over with my hubby who thought extortion was not in order.  I am doing just fine the way I am going. So this morning I started making calls and sending e mails to get myself noticed. This so I might get my book out in the public, when I received a phone call from the store where I felt like I was having to beg for a 6×9 place on their shelves. It looks like they might be interested after all. Someone who frequents their store, bought one of my books and was telling them about it. So now I am pondering the question do I keep doing it myself or do I accept the 6×9 corner on their store shelf?

The percentage they want is not less but I no longer will have to beg.

 After much thought I have decided to look for a different store to carry my book.

I know I will have to work hard at selling my books and I am so pleased by the amount I have ALREADY SOLD . But if we as artists have to give up so very much for so very little is it worth it. I could just give the books away and not have the headaches and accomplished the same thing. Get my books read but I am also hoping to make a few shekels along the way.

Posted in Books. 10 Comments »

10 Responses to “Everyday a learning curve”

  1. Paws To Talk Says:

    Good luck and keep pressing forward! We think it will be worth it.
    Bella and DiDi

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you so very much for your encouragement and support

      Like

  2. successbmine Says:

    Thank you so much, Chris. I really appreciate that.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Just let me know when and what you would like on the site . I do have several listed already
      http://www.ahairdressersdiary.com

      Like

  3. Yvonne Hertzberger Says:

    I see no reason you can’t have both – the store and the self-promotion. We all have to do everything we can to get our name out there. One store is not going to get you there.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Yvonne I don’t want to seem ungrateful to the store but you are right I should be able to do both. Hopefully I can get other stores in town on board too accept this might cause me to look un grateful. My hubby says I have to do what is good for me too.

      Like

  4. successbmine Says:

    This promotion and marketing thing can be pretty frustrating, can’t it? I don’t have a book out there yet, but I’m wondering what will happen when I do. I have a manuscript at a publisher’s now, but there is no guarantee they will accept it. Another one I am considering entering into a contest. There is one problem. Though there is no entry fee, I do have to send them a paper copy and the book is full colour. You can imagine how much that will cost to have printed off (about 160 pages and almost every page in colour). And then the postage. I think I have until June 15 to get it to them if I go for it. It’s really difficult to know what is the right thing to do. I wish you all the best in finding the right places for your book and many sales to accumulate those shekels we all hope to gain from our work.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      How exciting for you I pray all goes your way. What are these about or would you refer not to say.
      I love the fact a few authors have purchased my book and want me to sign it. I guess this is vanity but I am proud of that.
      When you have all things in arow take time to visit my website http://www.ahairdressersdiary.com and if you like the favourites page I would be pleased to add you.

      Like

      • successbmine Says:

        The book that is now in the hands of a publisher is about prayer, how I learned to pray and how others can learn how to pray the Word. The other one is a motivational book on how to reactivate a dream that has become buried under the rubble of life. It is also based on Scripture.

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        I would be honoured to put a link on my site if you would like when you are ready

        Like


Comments are closed.

