A Cut Above Discrimination – part 6

To all my wonderful followers and friends.Here is the next part of my short story. For those who are first timers, in order to get the feel of this story please read from the beginning or you will not be able to understand the powerful lesson.

Part 6

    Without further ado Barnett demanded Helina’s resignation. He and the other board members felt she deliberately went over their heads to make the board of health and social services look foolish and uncaring. She assured him that was not her goal and they needed no help from her to accomplish that.   Barnett took from his top drawer a white envelope with the Board Of Health Logo on the top left corner and slid it across the desk with such force that it almost slid off. Without even opening it, Helena reached over to the table beside her where she had her papers piled neatly, and from them pulled out the long white envelope she had just a few minutes before put in place, and with a gentle push she slid her envelope across the desk to Barnett. Picking up the envelope, Barnett’s eyes widened. His mouth dropped slightly as he saw the Paul Pope School Of Hairdressing logo on the left hand corner. What Barnett did not know was at the same meeting with the school,Helena,was offered the superintendent’s position and she had accepted. In the long white sealed envelope that she offered Barnett, was a copy of the contract that the school offered her.  Being the professional that she was she asked the school for two weeks to give her employer proper notice. In the heat of anger and embarrassment Barnett dismissed Helena wanting no notice. Helena stood up, again stretching out her hand as a gesture and found herself smiling to herself. The only thing she could think of at that moment was how hard she had to fight off the urge to go up to him and straighten his loud ugly patterned, coffee stained tie. With the feeling of success she bid her farewell and walked away closing the door for the last time behind her.

     Her career went full circle.  Here she was back in the business of hairdressing.  She started her new career the very next day.

     Helena brought with her many years of experience but most of all a desire and an idea to help the many people who could not or did not have the ways or means to help themselves. It took her several months to get those services implemented and running smoothly. She ultimately needed to have the help of the board of health and was assigned Brenda, an agent who supported Helena and who was willing to bypass Barnett. Helena, no longer working for Social Services, found it changed how others felt about the services she wanted to integrate into the community. Helena made it known she was grateful she may never have to deal with the likes of Barnett again.

Posted in Books. 8 Comments »

8 Responses to “A Cut Above Discrimination – part 6”

  1. successbmine Says:

    This is a beautiful story, Chris. I’m so glad you chose to post it here. I commend Helena for being so gracious with Barnett. She was the winner in more ways than one. I’m looking forward the “more to come”.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you so much I will be posting more to day. I hope I have given my readers a clear picture of Helina and Barnett.

      Like

  2. Yvonne Hertzberger Says:

    I’m so glad someone saw fit to acknowledge her.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you
      There is more to come. She did so much for me while I was going to hairdressing school. I was 16 and alone and she took me under her wing

      Like

  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words Says:

    you just have to smile through tears at her success of being determined to give
    of herself and make a difference in others lives…
    this was a wonderful story Chris…
    I really enjoyed it
    you captured my hearts attention from page one..

    Thank You….What a gift you are!

    Take care…
    You Matter
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you so much. This is taken from my book but I told the whole story here and made it a short story all its own. My son in law liked this one and asked me to.

      Like

  4. Connie McCormick Says:

    Barnett, “the old goat!” I would have fixed his tie alright! ( if you know what i mean) lol Love it Christine!!! xx

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      lol I felt the same way when Helina told me about him. now that I am grown up I have stronger words for him lol

      Like


Comments are closed.

