A Cut Above Discrimination – part 5

I hope you are finding my story interesting but I also hope there is a lesson for all here.

Part 5

Barnett ended his call abruptly by slamming his phone down. It made Helena jump. Before she even had a chance to say good morning, she could feel the hostility. It filled the small room. Barnett was rude, belligerent and condescending when he finally spoke.Helena found he had already made up his mind concerning her proposal, before she even had a chance to present it. She could not understand his resistance or his closed mindedness for a project not yet discussed. Standing directly in front of her now, with an intimidating attitude, he was demanding to know who gave her permission to take on this endeavor without prior permission from the Board of Health. Helena stared at him as she stood up; she could not believe what she was hearing. How could helping the less fortunate cause so much turmoil? In a controlled voice she wanted him to know that this was on her time, and that she was not charging for these services, so whom was this hurting? Barnett barked at her, telling her she could not continue unless she had a proper place to work. Making it clear he had to approve everything. He then reprimanded her for putting the board of health in a position of looking like the bad guys. Helena, no longer wanting to be treated like a child, demanded to know what the board of health was willing to do to help her get this much needed service in place. His answer was, “nothing! This is not our job!” Frustrated she replied, “But you are the board of health. These people need help, so whose job is it?” Silence and a shrug were her answers.

     Helena shook her head and sighed as she walked out of the office.  Feeling like she had been beating her head against the wall she desperately started making calls. There had to be someone who was willing to help the cause. Did no one care?  Frustrated with the lack of support from her employer, Social Service, their Board of Governors, or the Board of Health, she swore to find another way.

Posted in Books. 7 Comments »

7 Responses to “A Cut Above Discrimination – part 5”

  1. Chris Says:

    Happy Easter everyone
    I want to thank you all for being my friends and for the wonderful comments. I am so glad you are enjoying my story. My book A Hairdresser’s Diary is made of the same kind of stories.

    Like

  2. successbmine Says:

    As I read I am feeling the frustration Helena was feeling. I want to shake Barnett or somebody to put some sense into them. I’m still reading. You’ve got me hooked! 🙂

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      You are very kind. My editor said she was saddened when she had to stop reading to edit as she wanted to keep reading.

      Like

  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words Says:

    I forgot I read this one first, and went to start at the beginning
    I am known to be backwards in how I approach different things

    when I got back, I thought “OH NO” now i have to wait!
    THank you for sharing..
    I will wait somewhat impatiently, for that as I told someone yesterday
    is not a virtue in my world ….

    a Beautiful creation of art your words are…
    Take Care….
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you so much you are most kind. I hope you will tune in until the story ends.
      bless you for your sweet words

      Like

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words Says:

        I most definitly will!
        usually by now I have turned to the last page and read the ending..
        blogging we have to be patient LOLs..
        Thank you Chris…
        I am here ready for the next one!

        Take Care…
        )0(
        maryrose

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        It is on it’s way
        Thank you

        Like


Comments are closed.

