A time to reminise

This morning I was talking to one of my fans, I had a flood of memories I had long forgotten wash over me. I forgot about the burns some of our customers received while having the new and improved cold perms. The cotton soaked stips that were placed around your face and neck to PROTECT but really gave the amonia a place to collect and cause irritation and even burns. We as women wanted the newest trends and were willing to go through anything to get them, even burns.

I was reminded of the colour that was left on our customers faces around their hairline leaving red marks when we tried to remove it with colour remover.

How we used special shampoo to remove the lacquer left  from the hairspray which coated the customers strands of hair so much it looked like white specks on the hair.

The smell of burning or scorching hair while using overly hot curling irons. I for one did not escape my share of burns on fingers, hands or occasionally on my arm.

The hairstyles that lasted at least a week if not two. I for one was sought after for my ability to make those thing happen.

Just talking about these things make me appreciate all the wonderful changes in the years but makes me miss my career even more.

I curse the drunk driver who changed my life so dramatically everyday but I do not allow him to rule my life. As a matter of fact if not for the turn of events I would never have become an artist or an author.

Posted in Books. Tags: . 14 Comments »

14 Responses to “A time to reminise”

  1. adollyciousirony Says:

    My mom was a hairdresser and a make-up artist. She took care all of my hair grooming when I was growing up. She passed-away already 10 yeas ago.
    Thanks Chris for sharing your own story with us 🙂

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      I hope this is bringing back some good memories for you . I am sorry.
      Hopefully my book will be available soon and I hope others will find it enjoyable.

      Like

      • adollyciousirony Says:

        Thanks Chris, I look forward to read your book. Have a great day!

        Like

  2. successbmine Says:

    Good post, Chris. I started reading a new book and came to a word in it that reminded me of a friend who died this year and whom I hadn’t seen for a few years after she withdrew from us. The word? Pastizzi. I remembered a bag of pastizzi that she had given me and how much I enjoyed them, both the ricotta filling and the ones with the mushy peas. It is amazing how the smallest thing can trigger a long-forgotten memory. Sometimes that’s good, sometimes not so good. But, hey, at least I’m remembering something! 🙂

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      It is true. Just the simplest thing can make memories flood our minds, hearts and sometime they are welcomed other times not so much. I hear you, we should count our blessings lol

      Like

  3. Yvonne Hertzberger Says:

    Looks like you decided to make lemonade, Chris. And we are happy you did. 🙂

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you Yvonne and I even had a little sugar to add to the mix.

      Like

  4. Sandra McLeod Humphrey Says:

    Thanks for rekindling some memories and you’re so right–we have “come a long way!”

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      It’s a good thing too for all olf us.Thank you for reading my tidbits.

      Like

  5. Claire Cappetta Says:

    Thank you for your post today, reminds me of learning Marcel Waving in college with original old tongs…ahh the rancid smell of burning…brings it all back!

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      lol sometimes it is amazing what brings back memories. Although we probably could do without this one invading our noses. I love the feedback and memories many of you are posting.

      Like

  6. Ronnie Dauber Says:

    Reminising has a way of making us feel as if we have lost something when a sudden change in our life causes the things we liked to do to become a memory. But when we see what we have today, what we have become and what affect we have on others, we see that the Lord has made good out of something that could be our own breaking point. And we see our talents now and how He has blessed us and we realize that we are loved, valuable beyond measure, talented and one of a kind. And you, my friend Chris, are loved, valuable, talented and truly one of a kind. Smile, God loves you.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you so much Ronnie. Even though I take my frustrations out on God for the pain I have to endure I also thanked Him for giving me other gifts to – not replace those lost- but to help make me a better person.
      I just received a wonderful compliment about my book that included someone telling me I changed the way they looked at their disapointments in life as stepping stones and thanked me. I am humbled.This is just one more way the Good Lord has used me in the grand scheme of things. For this I am grateful.

      Like

  7. mrkittylovesyou Says:

    Check out my blog!!

    Like


Comments are closed.

