My Bangs – First you see them and then you don’t

This is one paragraph from my book A Hairdresser’s Diary. To set the stage I was still in hairdressing school.

Next, it was my turn to volunteer to be a guinea pig. Until now, I had never been to a hairdresser. Only my mother and I had ever cut or curled my hair. I started watching students closely, to decide which one of them I was willing to trust. I wanted one of the new haircuts that were very popular in all the fashion magazines. Shaggy bangs were everywhere and I had not had bangs since I was a kid. I liked them and wanted to be the first in our class. I thought Evelyn was my best bet so I volunteered to be her model. Her specialty was going to be in artistic cutting. She would be able to create the cut that was different, one created with scissors and a razor, giving the bangs a very attractive shaggy look. Ready for the transformation, I was a bit apprehensive, but still excited. Evelyn was very pleased she was going to do a cut that none of us had attempted before. Everyone in our class surrounded us, watching as Evelyn made the first cuts with her scissors. Evelyn asked if I was happy with the length and I nodded, my head yes. As I nodded Evelyn made her first cut with the razor and sliced a huge piece out of my bangs. My long shaggy bangs were now a two-inch uneven fringe in the middle of my forehead. Evelyn had forgotten to put the razor guard on, protecting both her fingers and my hair from such a dramatic cutting mistake. I could hear gasps and see the shock on the faces of the other students. I heard one of the students say “Oh my gawd, what happened?” I looked in the mirror and horror spread over my face. I felt like I was going to cry. This was not easily fixable! Suggestions would have been appreciated but none were forthcoming.

11 Responses to “My Bangs – First you see them and then you don’t”

  1. Route 66 Books Says:

    Route 66 Books…

    […]My Bangs – First you see them and then you don’t « A Hairdresser's Diaries[…]…

    Like

  2. inspired Says:

    inspired…

    […]My Bangs – First you see them and then you don’t « A Hairdresser's Diaries[…]…

    Like

  3. regrow hair Says:

    regrow hair…

    […]My Bangs – First you see them and then you don’t « A Hairdresser's Diaries[…]…

    Like

  4. successbmine Says:

    Chris, you must have been a treasure to your clients.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      My clients were not a money bag for me they were my friends and followed me when they could. I truly cared for each and every one . I was blessed with this gift of making others feel good about thenselves. It was not only hair but makeup as well. My modeling career was more for me.

      Like

  5. successbmine Says:

    I can imagine how you must have felt. It’s alright to say when you get a lemon make lemonade, but most people like a little sugar in their lemonade and that was certainly lacking all forms of sweetness. I have not had my hair cut since 1968. I have trimmed it myself, and I lost about a foot of it some years ago when I was having trouble with my thyroid, but to all intents and purposes I have let it grow and would not change it for anything. I have heard too many horror stories about people with long hair going to the hairdresser to get 2 or 3 inches trimmed off and ended up with their ears showing below the hair line. I’m sure you wouldn’t do such a thing, but I know, it wouldn’t do to have many people like me around – you’d be pretty poor to say nothing about being bored with no clients. 🙂 One of the ladies who used to be in our writer’s group had a similar horror story. She asked for a trim (her hair was already short), but by the time he got finished with her she was almost bald. When she brought her story for critiquing we laughed till we cried. Thanks for sharing your story.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      It was a good thing I was in hairdressing school and we were just learning. I have a very sad story about having my long hair cut off but if I tell all my stories no one will want to be interested in my book lol. I specialized in long hair and did that even before I started hairdressing school at 16. I made myself a promise then I would never cut anyones hair too short. I have a few times recut to take a bit more off. No one was ever going to suffer my fait at my hand.
      I am so pleased you stopped by please come again

      Like

  6. Sandra McLeod Humphrey Says:

    Love it! I am so looking forward to reading all your stories!

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you so very much. This is the kind of things my book is about.

      Like

  7. Yvonne Hertzberger Says:

    The one that made me want to cry was when I offered to be a guinea pig at a show. My own hairdresser was in a competition. I knew and trusted him. When he finished with me I felt scalped. It took three months to get back to a length that did not make me feel ugly. Ah, hairdressing school. The ‘good old days’.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      I was going to keep my long haired heartbreak for my book but I have decided to post it next. Thank you so much Yvonne for being one of my followers. I always tried to put myself in my customers place before I did any service on them. I had a great clientelle.

      Like


Comments are closed.

