Just a day at home with my scissors

While at home and bored, one day I decided to cut my hair, a common occurrence. With my scissors in hand, I started cutting just above my ear. I thought I heard someone at the front door. I turned my head to listen closer, realizing it might just be Cercie our cat. I turned my head back, which caused me to stab myself in the side of my head with the tip of my exceptionally sharp scissors. OUCH! Anyone knowing about scalp wounds knows how profusely they bleed. I had blood spurting like a small geyser from the small triangular wound. I felt it run down my ear and neck. Shock and panic set in. Holding my finger on the wound, I ran across the street to my neighbours. Without knocking, I ran into their house. Fiona seeing the blood squeeled and without notice fainted. Her husband Dan came in and found her lying on the floor. He was trying to calm me and revive his wife while he informed me Fiona fainted at the sight of blood. No kidding! I think I could have figured that out for myself. I apologized and in tears ran back home not sure what to do next. Dan called after me wanting to make sure I was okay.
Afraid to remove my finger from the hole, I called my doctor for advice. It was suggested I remove my finger, to check the bleeding. Yes, it had stopped. I asked about a tetanus shot. Snickering, the nurse said, “I will ask the doctor as soon as he gets up off the floor from laughing!” I admit it was a painfully stupid thing to do. Ron shaking his head in total disbelief, said, “Honey if you want to commit seppuku (Japanese form of suicide via sword) you have to aim lower, a whole lot lower,” and then he broke down laughing hysterically. The sore spot on my head was nothing to the unmerciful teasing I received from family, friends and co-workers. Someone walked past me at work and whispered, “Snip, snip,” then smiled and winked. One of the other girls yelled across the room, “Anyone got scissors in their head, oh I mean hand,” every one would burst out laughing including me.
By the way, my neighbour Fiona was just fine, but she requested I not bleed at her house any more.

8 Responses to “Just a day at home with my scissors”

  1. Claire Cappetta Says:

    Been a crazy week and just saw your post, too funny because my husband cut my bangs last week… not goody hairdresser neighbor fell about laughing when he saw me… Sigh so I feel your pain… Lol

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Hi Claire thank you so much for reading this I hope you will come back for more. My book A Hairdresser’s Diary is full of storys of all kinds.

      Like

    • Chris Says:

      lol I have a story in my book that will make you feel better. You know the saying. the difference between a good hair cut and a bad one is two weeks . I think 50 yers ago i started that saying lol

      Like

      • Claire Cappetta Says:

        Goo, then I have a week to go before people stop staring at me funny! I tried to comment nvm on my posting but won’t post off the iPod, being lazy Saturday and all, but look up alkaline diet. It worked for my friend, but it is a very strict diet! Wishing you all the best

        Like

      • Chris Says:

        I hope you have time to read my next post about my bangs fiasko lol
        I will post soon

        Like

  2. successbmine Says:

    I love your easy sense of humor, Chris. I shared on Twitter and Facebook and will also share on StumbleUpon. Laughter is as good as medicine.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Thank you so much you are most kind
      I hope you will be back for more

      Like

  3. Sometimes I contemplate if folks truly take time to compose something original, or are they only just dishing out words to fill a site. This surely doesn't fit that mold. Thank you for taking the time to write with awareness. From Time To Time I look at a Says:

    Sometimes I contemplate if folks truly take time to compose something original, or are they only just dishing out words to fill a site. This surely doesn’t fit that mold. Thank you for taking the time to write with awareness. From Time To Time I loo…

    […]Just a day at home with my scissors « A Hairdresser's Diaries[…]…

    Like


Comments are closed.

